News from BSO


Date: October 18, 2013                                     PIO Number: 13-10-18

10 a.m. Tuesday, October 22, 2013
African-American Research Library and Cultural Center
2650 Sistrunk Blvd., Fort Lauderdale

Broward Sheriff Scott Israel will honor the outstanding contributions of employees and private citizens at the Broward Sheriff’s Office Semi-Annual Awards Ceremony on Tuesday. The award recipients were selected from dozens of nominees who serve in the areas of law enforcement, fire rescue, detention and support services, as well as private citizens.

Among the many being recognized is Deputy Chief Joseph Fernandez.  He will receive the Life Saving Award for his actions.  While returning home on a flight, a four-year-old boy became unresponsive in respiratory distress when Chief Fernandez stepped in and provided medical lifesaving aid.  The Sheriff’s Special Recognition Award will go to Marilynn Lindsey, a student at Cypress Bay High School, for raising money to purchase bulletproof vests to protect BSO’s canines from harm’s way.  Deputy Osvaldo Petitfrere will be honored with the National Sheriff’s Association Medal of Valor Award for his heroic efforts to save the life of Key Biscayne Police Officer Nelia Real during the tragic turnpike shooting that occurred in May of last year.  Sgt. John Kelly and Deputy John Rodriguez will receive the Medal of Honor along with  Miami-Dade Police Officer Jonathan Dweck to receive the Sheriff’s Special Recognition Award for their heroic actions in assisting a victim ejected from her vehicle after a horrific crash caused by a suspect fleeing from Miami-Dade County.  While the armed suspect was a short distance away, they worked in unison and extracted the victim from the crash scene and transported her to an awaiting ambulance.    

“It is my privilege to recognize these exceptional members of our community,” Sheriff Scott Israel said. “I honor them for their actions and for stepping up unselfishly to look out for another.”
The complete list of award recipients is as follows:

Exceptional Service Award: Sergeant Glenn Bukata, Pompano Beach.

Sheriff’s Special Recognition Award: Joseph Sparks, Allstate Insurance Company; Marilynn Lindsey, City of Weston resident; James Clark, Lauderdale Lakes resident; Office of Homeland Security, Strategic Investigations Division; Code Enforcement Unit, Deerfield Beach; OSSI Implementation Team; Cox Media Group; Officer Jonathan Dweck, Miami-Dade Police Department.

Meritorious Service Award: Deputy James Claburn, Central Broward; Deputy Gregory Small, Central Broward; Lieutenant Brad Ostroff, Oakland Park; Lieutenant Kevin McNamara, Air Rescue; Firefighter/Paramedic Tia Urella, Lauderdale Lakes; James Hasselman, Aviation Unit.

Grand Cordon Unit Achievement Award: Crime Suppression Team, Pompano Beach Area 2; Career Criminal Unit, Criminal Investigations Division; Explosive Detection Canine Unit, International Airport; Criminal Investigations Unit, Oakland Park; Main Jail Program Unit.

Communications Training Officer of the Year: Julie Otten, Communications Operator III.

Communications Operator of the Year: George Garron, Communications Operator III; Brandon Folks, Communications Operator III.

Life Saving Award: Deputy Albert Smith, Port Everglades; Deputy Jason Fitzsimons, Pompano Beach; Deputy Clint Williams, Pompano Beach; Deputy Justin Eramo, Pompano Beach; Deputy Timothy Moran, Port Everglades; Sergeant Christopher McCoy, Dania Beach; Deputy Alberto Rivera, Joseph V. Conte Facility; Sergeant Laurice Melvin, North Broward Bureau; Deputy Patrika Dawkins, North Broward Bureau; Sergeant Stephen Edwards, North Broward Bureau; Deputy Robert O’Neil, Pompano Beach; Deputy Matthew Perricone, Oakland Park; Deputy Kevin Kennison, Civil Division; Deputy Chief Joseph Fernandez, Fire Rescue Administration; Vidal Mendez, Mo Quality Car Wash; Moses Francois, Mo Quality Car Wash; Wilkenson Francois, Mo Quality Car Wash; Michael Moncrieffe, Mo Quality Car Wash; Salison Louis, Mo Quality Car Wash; Robert Evans, Behavioral Health Transport.

Silver Cross Award: Deputy Joseph Bialczak, Oakland Park.

Gold Cross Award: Sergeant Richard LaCerra, Oakland Park; Deputy Peter Peraza, Oakland Park; Sergeant Christopher Hickox, SWAT; Detective Jason Rotella, SWAT; Detective Gerardo Lopez, SWAT; Deputy Carlos Gomez, SWAT.

National Sheriff’s Association Medal of Valor Award: Deputy Osvaldo Petitfrere, Dania Beach.

Medal of Honor: Deputy Michael Ryan, Central Broward; Sergeant John Kelly, Weston; Deputy John Rodriguez, Weston.

Posted At: 10/18/2013 12:50 PM

Print News Packet

Back to Current News

Translate This Page: