News from BSO


Thursday, September 6, 2001 / 11:30 AM
Amaturo Theater
Broward Center for the Performing Arts
201 SW 5th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale

Broward Sheriff Ken Jenne and Dr. Roslyn Carter of Florida Atlantic University are pleased to announce that 32 law enforcement professionals from 15 South Florida agencies will graduate tomorrow from the Center for Advanced Criminal Justice Studies. All successfully completed the Center’s Criminal Justice Executive Leadership Program. Sheriff Jenne, Dr. Carter and Class Representative Capt. Louis Cavallo from North Lauderdale Police Department will speak.

The center, which opened in May 1999, is a partnership between the Broward Sheriff’s Office, Florida Atlantic University and the Sheriff’s Foundation of Broward County. Courses are taught on Fridays for 25 weeks at FAU’s Davie campus. The program helps students apply criminal justice theory to real-life situations, and is valuable for mid- and upper-level managers hoping to become future sheriffs and chiefs.

This is the Center’s first graduating class to include law enforcement professionals from agencies other than BSO. The graduates include: Capt. Edgar Morley of the Boca Raton Police Department; Lts. Wendy Sue Danysh, Chris Frey and Sgt. James Prestinari of the Boynton Beach Police Department; Capt. Brian Callaghan, Lt. John Hale, Lt. Frank Imparato, Sgt. Lynn Jaffe, Lts. Keith Neely, and Andrew Smalling of BSO; Sgt. Robert Beckmann of the Cooper City Police Department; Sgts. Tony Pustizzi and Kevin Montagna of the Coral Springs Police Department; Special Agent Maurice Spates of the Florida Department of Law Enforcement; Sgts. Tom Harrington, Harvey Jacques, Gregory Salters and Mitch VanSant of the Fort Lauderdale Police Department; Sgts. Sonia Queipo and Marsha Roaden of the Hallandale Beach Police Department; Sgt. Michael Springstun of the Hollywood Police Department; Cmdr. Michael Oh of the Lighthouse Point Police Department; Sgts. Michael Borrelli and Dana Watson of the Margate Police Department; Capt. Louis Cavallo and Sgt. Thomas Watkins of the North Lauderdale Police Department; Maj. Dan Smith, Lt. Reginald Allen, and Capt. Christopher Kneisley of the Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office; Terrill Gardner of the State Attorney’s Office; Sgt. Nick Ismailoff and Lt. Ben Idalberto Torres of the Key Biscayne Police Department.

The next Criminal Justice Executive Leadership class begins in January 2002.

This report by:
Cheryl Stopnick / Media Relations

Posted At: 09/05/2001 04:09 PM

Print News Packet

Back to Current News

Translate This Page: