News from BSO

BSO employees honored for lifesaving, outstanding service at awards ceremony

More than 100 officers, deputies and other employees of the Broward Sheriff’s Office were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the agency at awards ceremonies held on Friday, January 3, 2003 at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts in Ft. Lauderdale.,“The Broward Sheriff’s Office is extremely fortunate to have within its ranks some of the most exceptional professionals in the field of law enforcement,” said Broward Sheriff Ken Jenne at the event. “We’re proud to commend these BSO members who continuously demonstrate their unwavering dedication to the mission of this agency and to the communities that we serve.”,Among the honorees were members of BSO’s District 2 Dania Beach Neighborhood Response Team. During 2002, the team worked with community leaders and other law enforcement agencies to break up a cocaine distribution ring, take more than 2 dozen drug dealers of the district’s streets, seize illegal drugs and confiscate more than $41,000 in drug money.,Receiving BSO’s prestigious Gold Cross Award were Detectives John Donadio, Richard Pulido and Chris Percival for their efforts in thwarting a possible bank robbery in which shots were fired by the suspects.,BSO Sergeant Laura Schilling, a deputy at the North Broward Detention Facility, received a meritorious service award for her assistance in the delivery of an inmate’s baby.,Other BSO employees and departments recognized at the ceremony include:,Grand Cordon Unit Award:

  • Bureau of Information Resource Management Help Desk
  • CALEA Accreditation Team
  • Court Liaison Unit
  • Criminal Investigations Robbery Unit
  • District 4 Lauderdale Lakes CI Unit
  • District 5 Central Broward CI Unit
  • District 8 Weston/Southwest Ranches CI Unit
  • District 15 North Lauderdale CI Unit
  • Electronic Monitoring Unit
  • In-Custody Programs
,Exceptional Service Award:
  • Deputy Stephen Kopp, Bomb Squad
  • Deputy Albert Smith, Bomb Squad
  • Deputy Scott Nelson, District 3 Airport
  • Sergeant Pete Sudler, District 5 Central Broward
  • Deputy Scott Pugliese, District 5 Central Broward
  • Investigative Aide Lynn Gottlieb, District 5 Central Broward
  • Sergeant Edward Wolff, Training Division
  • Fleet Week / Air & Sea Show Taskforce
,Commendation Award:
  • Code Inspector Nicholas Lupo, District 11 Pompano Beach
  • Yves D. Joseph, Drug Court
  • Lieutenant David Robshaw, Professional Compliance
,Life Saving Award:
  • Deputy James Cimoch, School Resource Officer Unit
  • Deputy Richard D'Agostino, District 3 Airport
  • Deputy Chandra Jefferson, District 4 Lauderdale Lakes
  • Deputy Lorraine Szczepanik, District 4 Lauderdale Lakes
  • Deputy Thierry Albert-Thenet, District 5 Central Broward
  • Sergeant Andrew Dunbar, District 7 Tamarac
  • Sergeant Adalberto Rodriguez, District 7 Tamarac
  • Deputy Ronald D'Agostino, District 7 Tamarac
  • Deputy Scott Shapiro, District 7 Tamarac
  • Deputy Mouda Mashnouk, District 8 Weston/Southwest Ranches
  • Deputy Sean French, District 11 Pompano Beach
  • Deputy Joseph Bialczak, District 12 Oakland Park
  • Sergeant Patrick J. Murray, District 12 Oakland Park
  • Deputy Lisa DiSavino, District 12 Oakland Park
  • Deputy James Snell, District 12 Oakland Park
  • Deputy Holly Tucker, District 12 Oakland Park
  • Deputy Salvatore Verini, District 12 Oakland Park
  • Deputy Phillip Cerulli, Stockade Facility
  • Deputy Jonathan Lawrence, District 15 North Lauderdale
  • Chief Kevin Tyrie, District 13 Lauderdale-By-The-Sea
  • Deputy Howard Courter, Main Jail Bureau
  • Deputy Brian Tephford, DLE Cadet Academy (formerly Main Jail)
  • Deputy Jorge Vasquez, Main Jail
,In addition to BSO personnel, these citizens were also recognized for their lifesaving efforts:
  • Mr. Gaston Elizondo, nominated by District 13 Lauderdale-By-The-Sea
  • Mr. Ranier Percher, nominated by District 13 Lauderdale-By-The-Sea
  • Mr. John Zuwiala, nominated by District 10 Deerfield Beach
  • Mrs. Carolyn Parker, nominated by District 10 Deerfield Beach
  • Mr. Henry Peterman, nominated by Criminal Investigations
  • Mrs. Barbara Lachance, nominated by SRO Unit
  • Miss Raian Boone, nominated by District 7 Tamarac

Posted At: 01/09/2003 12:00 AM

Print News Packet

Back to Current News

Translate This Page: