Reports and background checks in person
Reports taken by deputies may take several days to reach the Records Division. Before you make a trip to BSO, please call us at (954) 831-8700 to make sure we have the report on file.
To pick up a report in person, visit the Records Division window in the lobby of the Public Safety Building, open Monday-Thursday from 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. The department will be closed Friday through Sunday. Bring cash or check for the fees required (credit or debit cards are not accepted). Reports are usually processed and delivered while you wait.
For background checks, you must include the following information on the individual for whom you are requesting the background check:
- the full name
- date of birth
For copies of accident or event reports, you must include:
- the case number (if available)
- date, time and location of the event or accident
- the name(s) of the person(s) involved.
IMPORTANT: If you wish to obtain a traffic accident report within 60 days of the incident, Florida law requires that you complete a Request for Traffic Crash Report Information Form indicating you are entitled to receive it (please review the form to make certain you are eligible). Bring the completed form with you when you come to BSO to pick up your report. After 60 days, the form is not necessary and anyone may obtain a copy of the report.
A security screening (including passing through a metal detector and X-ray of hand-carried and other objects) is required to enter the Public Safety Building.
If you have questions or need more information regarding our services or fees, please call us at (954) 831-8700.
- Access our records database online by visiting the “MyReport” link
- Online Request Form [ Why this saves you time ]
- Reports by mail
- Reports in person
- Report a tow / repossession
- About background checks, event reports or accident reports
- Report fees
- Privacy and restricted information
- Records Division main page
- State of Florida Public Records Resources
Translate This Page: