PIO Number: 18-6-16  

Date: June 20, 2018

Broward Sheriff's Office 2017 Annual Awards Ceremony

1:30 p.m. Thursday, June 21, 2018

Lauderhill Performing Arts Center, 3800 N.W. 11th Place, Lauderhill


There are heroics that make headlines and those that go unnoticed by the public. On Thursday, Broward Sheriff Scott Israel will recognize numerous bold and compassionate work at the Broward Sheriff's Office annual awards ceremony in Lauderhill.

The award recipients were nominated for their exemplary contributions in 2017 and include BSO deputies, civilian personnel, firefighters, paramedics, support staff and citizens.

The Gold Cross Award, one of the accolades, is for the heroic actions of Deputy Jesus "Jesse" Madrigal who rushed toward danger during the shooting at the Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport. Madrigal put himself in harm's way for the public's good, running downstairs toward the gunfire to engage the shooter.

Sheriff Israel will also recognize firefighters who rescued a teen from a submerged car and a civilian who supported Hurricane Irma evacuees. Six BSO employees will receive Exceptional Service Awards, including two homicide detectives who solved the murder a 19-year-old woman who was buried in a backyard.

The complete list of award recipients who demonstrated valor, tenacity and character is as follows: Gold Cross: Deputy Jesus "Jesse" Madrigal. Silver Cross: Patricia Williams. Life Saving: Linda Alexander, Deputy Juan-Carlos Aycart, Ray Aydogar, Deputy Caleb Ballinger, Deputy Kirk Blackson, Driver Engineer William Bonner, Deputy Carlos Brandao, Deputy Dan Broadhurst, Deputy Katherine Busey, Deputy Joseph Cabal, Lt. Eric Caldwell, Driver Engineer John Cavallo, Firefighter Randy Chidester, Deputy Cathyleen Cole, Firefighter Joshua Conver, Deputy Joe Corsi, Deputy Frank Cusco, Deputy Damien D'Avanzo, Firefighter Kenneth Desantis, Deputy Jason Dorsett, Fort Lauderdale Police Officer Ivan Fernandez, Deputy Pedro Figueroa, Deputy Jose Flores, Captain Joseph Fortnash, Deputy Peter Geary, Deputy Christopher Gonzalez, Lt. Mark Greier, Deputy Joe Harris, Deputy Zachary Hasson, Sergeant Thomas Hinton, Deputy Ryne Hopkins, Det. Jose Huertas, Deputy Jovian Irizarry, Deputy Craig Jacobson, Driver Engineer Robert Jaxtheimer, Derrick Johnson, Deputy Michael Kantor, Deputy So Hyon Kim, Deputy Gerald Kitchell, Deputy Lawrence Klarman, Deputy Steven Kolano, Deputy Andre Landells, Deputy Stephen Legow, Deputy Timothy Lettieri, Deputy Richard Long, Deputy Jeffrey Mallory, Deputy Michael McCloskey, Firefighter/Paramedic Michael McConnell, Deputy Sean McCoy, Deputy Jorge Medina, Jackcene Merlien, Det. Timothy Metz, Lieutenant Thomas Noland, Deputy Christopher Ortis, Deputy Daniel Park, Deputy Matthew Parrish, Deputy Christian Peralta, Fire Rescue Assistant Chief Edward Pidermann, Sergeant Kypps Poliard, Lieutenant Thomas Posey, Firefighter Sean Quitoni, Battalion Chief Thomas Ray, Deputy Rolando Reyes, Deputy Felipe Santamaria, Deputy Timothy Schaub, Captain Robert Schnakenberg, Chief Richard Sievers, Deputy Juan Sigler, Lieutenant Matthew Solomon, Deputy Sean Strzalkowski, Carlos Suarez, Captain Suzanne Sweetman, Deputy Bradley Thompson, Communications Operator Shannon Timkee, Deputy Thomas Trawinski, Deputy Latonya Williams, and Deputy Jonathan Zinglo. Department of Law Enforcement Deputy of the Year: Sgt. Floyd "Bubba" Baker. Department of Detention Deputy of the Year: Deputy Ashleigh Powell. Detective of the Year: Det. Mark Copley. Fire Rescue Employee of the Year: Battalion Chief Fadil Ameerally. Civilian Employee of the Year: Kimberly Blair. Department of Detention Civilian Employee of the Year: Patricia Funderburk. Community Services Civilian of the Year: Candace Fuller. Child Protective Investigations Section Civilian of the Year: Nixon Leonard. DLE Unit of the Year: Dania Beach Crime Suppression Team. Investigations Unit of the Year: Robbery Unit. DOD Unit of the Year: Court Security West Tower Courthouse. Fire Rescue Unit of the Year: Technical Rescue Team. Department of Investigations Support Unit of the Year: Forensic Services Crime Scene Unit. Support Unit of the Year: Fire Rescue Training Division. DOD Support Unit of the Year: Emergency Response Team. DLE Grand Cordon: Central Broward/Lauderdale Lakes District Alpha Squad 2. Grand Cordon: Gang Investigations Unit. Public Safety Operations: Captain Daniel Jackowski. Public Safety Operations: Sgt. Todd Michaels. Exceptional Service: Driver Engineer Matthew Anderson, Deputy Mark Barrie, Lt. Chris Mulligan, Det. Kevin Nitsch, Captain J.P. Rebour, and Det. Brian Tutler. Volunteer Service: Dania Beach Citizen Observer Patrol.  Sheriff's Special Recognition: Bishop Henry Fernandez, Rick Party, Lewis Stahl and Brent Upchurch. Certificate of Recognition: Broward Health Medical Staff. Citizen of the Year: Dennis Giordano.

 Joy Oglesby/PIO

Search The Site

Contact Us

Broward's Sheriff's Office
2601 West Broward Boulevard
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312

Dial 911 for Emergencies Only

Non-Emergencies (954) 764-HELP (4357)

To report a crime tip (954) 493-TIPS (8477)

To report abuse (800) 96-ABUSE (22873)

General Information (954) 765-4321

Privacy Policy - Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

Terms of Use - © 2018 Broward County Sheriff's Office.
All rights reserved. This information is made available to the public and law enforcement in the interest of public safety. Any unauthorized use of this information is forbidden and subject to criminal prosecution.

Accessibility Policy

Social Terms of Use - The Broward Sheriff’s Office (“Agency”) Social Media Terms of Use establishes guidelines for Agency- maintained social media sites, pages and posts on social media networks, including but not limited to Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.