Fees

Broward County Sheriff's Office

All checks must be made payable to "Sheriff of Broward County."

Documents for service not properly issued, or those with incorrect fees or incorrect payee on check, will be returned. A $40 service fee is now required for "alias" or "pluries" process, even if service has been previously attempted by BSO's Civil Division.

If you have questions regarding process service, please contact the Broward Sheriff's Office Civil Division at (954) 831-8787 during regular business hours.

Type of ServiceCost of Service
All Summonses, Subpoenas and Writs (except Executions): Certified or original court-sealed copy of service, and copy with attachments for each party or entity to be served (F.S. 30.231(3))
Out-of-State Non-Enforceable Process: BSO's Civil Division will serve the process per Florida Statutes unless an explicit letter of instructions accompanies each document
For cases filed in Florida:
$40 for each person or entity served


For cases filed outside Florida:
$50 for each person or entity served
Witness Subpoenas: Certified or original court-sealed copy of service, and copy with attachments for each party or entity to be served (F.S. 30.231 (3)), unless otherwise directed by the courts $40 for each subpoena, plus check to witness for fees and mileage


$50 for each witness subpoena filed outside of Florida
Injunction for Protection (Domestic/Restraining Orders): Requires three (3) original certified injunctions, petition, description sheet, notice of hearing. No service fee
All Writs (except Executions requiring seizure of property): $40 service fee and $50 for each levy
Writ of Replevin: Provide complete description of property being seized, serial number or identifying number/trademark, service address where property is located, copy of court order for issuance of writ and copy of bond posted with court. If property is in a locked area, a break order is required $40 service fee, $50 levy fee and $500 minimum cost deposit if a break order is required. Add an additional $40 service fee for each additional person to be served. Standby Charge: If replevin of property will exceed one hour, a standby charge of $40 per hour per deputy is to be paid in advance (rate assessed in hourly increments). Any overage will be refunded.
Writ of Possession: Landlord/tenant or foreclosure along with documents issued from court, name and telephone number of landlord or authorized agent are required. If a telephone number is out of the county, the deputy sheriff will call collect. The landlord or agent must provide a locksmith and be present when the eviction is finalized. When filing a Writ of Possession with the Broward Sheriff's Office, you can expect your eviction to be completed in approximately 10 working days of the posting. If the deputies are able to complete the eviction sooner they will. If your eviction is not completed within that time frame please call us and we will research the status of your writ $90 ($40 service fee, $50 levy). Standby Charge: If a deputy sheriff is requested to stand by for more than 30 minutes, the request must be in writing when the writ is presented for service. Request must be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $80 per deputy ($40 per hour, two hour minimum).
Distress Writ: Service only $40 for each person served
Writ of Attachment (Body): Three (3) original certified writs, two (2) true copies and description sheet including date of birth and social security number $255 ($40 service fee, $50 levy and $165 incarceration fee [$55 per day, three day minimum]) which is refundable if the defendant is not incarerated.
Writ of Attachment (Property): Provide copy of bond posted with court, copy of court order for issuance of writ and levy instructions listing property being attached (attachment is not a break order; if contents are at a location that is locked, a break order is required) Call for fees and cost deposit
Writ of Attachment (Real Estate): Must be accompanied by levy instructions showing legal description and street address $100 ($40 service fee, $50 levy, $10 recording fee) and $40 service fee for each additional person to be served

Levy Fees

Type of LevyCost of Service
Real Estate: Legal description and street address are required on levy instructions $600 cost deposit plus $50 levy fee and $40 service fee
Vehicles: Provide description of vehicle, tag number, vehicle ID number and address where vehicle can be found during normal working hours $1000 cost deposit plus $50 levy fee and $40 service fee. Call BSO Civil Unit / Enforceable Writs for storage requirements
Assets of Business: Must provide specific inventory of business assets Call BSO Civil Unit/Enforceable Writs for fees and cost deposit. ($3,500 cost deposit, plus $50 Levy fee and $40 service fee). Deposits may vary depending on size of business.
Personal Assets: Can levy if person is single. If married, the judgment must be against both husband and wife. Provide specific inventory of household furnishings Call BSO Civil Unit/Enforceable Writs for fees and cost deposit. ($3,500 cost deposit, plus $50 Levy fee and $40 service fee). Deposits may vary depending on size of home.
Jewelry or Stock Certificates: Defendant must voluntarily turn over inventory $500 cost deposit plus $50 levy fee and $40 service fee
Boats: Provide location of boat, description and size, name of boat, Florida and decal number or documentation number and port of documentation. Also advise whether boat is in or out of water Call BSO Civil Unit/Enforceable Writs for fees, cost deposit and storage requirements. ($1,500 cost deposit, plus $50 Levy fee and $40 service fee).
Airplanes: Provide description of airplane, location and aircraft registration number Call BSO Civil Unit/Enforceable Writs for fees, cost deposit and storage requirements. ($1,500 cost deposit, plus $50 Levy fee and $40 service fee).
BREAK ORDER REQUIREMENTS - must be certified and contain address of premises to break. An additional $500.00 deposit for writ of replevin.

Executions:

When sending in levy instructions, the following additional information is required to mail out sales notices after levy: name and address of attorney of record for defendant and current or last known address of defendant or other parties who should be notified of sale. When estimating cost deposits, a standby charge of $40 per hour per deputy (rate assessed in hourly increments) will be included in the estimate to cover the deputy's time at the location after the first hour. These cost deposits are an estimate of anticipated charges; if actual charges exceed the estimate, additional funds must be paid immediately upon request.


Untitled 1

Search The Site

Contact Us

Broward's Sheriff's Office
2601 West Broward Boulevard
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312

Dial 911 for Emergencies Only

Non-Emergencies (954) 764-HELP (4357)

To report a crime tip (954) 493-TIPS (8477)

To report abuse (800) 96-ABUSE (22873)

General Information (954) 765-4321

Privacy Policy - Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

Terms of Use - © 2018 Broward County Sheriff's Office.
All rights reserved. This information is made available to the public and law enforcement in the interest of public safety. Any unauthorized use of this information is forbidden and subject to criminal prosecution.

Social Terms of Use - © The Broward Sheriff’s Office (“Agency”) Social Media Terms of Use establishes guidelines for Agency- maintained social media sites, pages and posts on social media networks, including but not limited to Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.